Evidence profile
Retatrutide
Retatrutide study rows link each listed finding to its source, model or population, and endpoint.
Cited headline finding
The trial reported a −24.2% least-squares mean body-weight change in one study arm. ↗
338 adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related condition, without diabetesJastreboff et al., NEJM 2023Phase 1–2
Mechanism scope
How cited research characterizes Retatrutide
Coskun et al. characterized triple GIP, GLP-1, and glucagon receptor activity in cell and mouse experimental systems.
Open question
What the cited Retatrutide sources do not resolve
The cited Retatrutide trials report findings within their stated populations and endpoints; the sources do not establish findings beyond those conditions.
Sources: Jastreboff et al., NEJM 2023 ↗ · Sanyal et al., Nature Medicine 2024 ↗ · Bajaj et al., Lancet 2026 ↗
| Finding | Year | n | Model or population | Endpoint | Source | Evidence tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The trial reported a published Phase 3 type-2-diabetes result. | 2026 | Not stated | Adults with type 2 diabetes in TRANSCEND-T2D-1 | Glycaemic endpoint | Bajaj et al., Lancet 2026 ↗ | Phase 3 |
| The substudy reported relative MRI-PDFF liver-fat reductions across study arms. | 2024 | 98 | 98-person MRI-PDFF substudy from the Phase 2 population with MASLD and liver fat of at least 10% | Relative MRI-PDFF liver-fat change; efficacy estimand | Sanyal et al., Nature Medicine 2024 ↗ | Phase 1–2 |
| The trial reported a −24.2% least-squares mean body-weight change in one study arm. | 2023 | 338 | 338 adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related condition, without diabetes | Body-weight change; efficacy estimand | Jastreboff et al., NEJM 2023 ↗ | Phase 1–2 |
| The study characterized triple GIP, GLP-1, and glucagon receptor activity in experimental systems. | 2022 | Not stated | Cell and mouse experimental systems | Receptor pharmacology | Coskun et al., Cell Metabolism 2022 ↗ | In vitro |
Regulatory status
Retatrutide appears in Health Canada's peptide-drug advisory. ↗
Reviewer: Ember Peptides source-verification editorial review · Review date: 2026-09-13